Leave a comment

KIMPOY FELICIANO: From OnLINE Sensation to Newest Pinoy Youth Icon


Four years ago, online heartthrob Kimpoy Feliciano’s family decided to migrate to Dunedin, New Zealand.  Just like any kid in his situation then, he had no choice but to oblige in his family’s decision to move to a new place, away from his other family, friends, and classmates.

Luckily, social media has bridged the gap between Kimpoy and his loved ones in Manila and Bulacan. Through sites like Tumblr, Facebook, Youtube, and Twitter, he has reconnected himself to the Philippines without being physically present in the country.

“It was very hard for me when my family decided to move to Dunedin.  I had to leave everyone behind. When we left for Dunedin, it was one of the saddest days in my life,” says the 19-year-old Kimpoy, who is currently a second year Business Management Student in University of Otago. “Who would have known that because of that sadness, I would connect to more people in the Philippines? Talagang everything happens for a reason and I am blessed that I have friends from everywhere now. Talagang no boundaries.”

Being the ever-playful Kimpoy, his antics did not only capture the appreciation of his friends, it also earned him more Filipino friends.

The support of these new friends made Kimpoy one of the most influential Filipinos on Twitter, according to social media analytics site Klout.com.  He ranked third in the survey, where he is the lone non-TV star.

He also bagged the 2012 Globe Tatt Awards’ Thought Mover Award for his nuggets of wisdom.

He was adjudged number one Youtube Leader in the 4th Annual Shorty Awards, besting other local and international celebrities.  The awarding was held in New York, USA.

“It is really heartwarming to know that I have developed these friendships. Amazing po talaga how internet can bridge the gaps between people from different locations,” adds Kimpoy. “I really feel blessed to have everyone supporting me.”

Aside from his activities online, Kimpoy also became part of the New Zealand cast of the musical Miss Saigon.

“I am really a dancer, more than a singer, but I can also sing,” clarifies Kimpoy. “Friends know I love to sing and dance,”

Kimpoy Feliciano attributes all the breakthrough opportunities coming his way to the love of his Twitter, Tumblr, and Facebook friends.  He was recently named by Malacanang as one of the country’s Peace Ambassadors.

“It is because of them that I get to do all these things, and for them, I would make sure that I give my 100% to everything that I have been blessed with,” says the New Zealand-based Kimpoy, who is the cover boy of the latest issue of Pinoy Song Mag. “I am inspired because of all the love I have been receiving.”

 

Kimpoy went home for 12 days to finish a slew of projects prepared for him, which includes his debut album under Universal Records, pictorials, music video shoots, interviews, TV guestings, among others.

He guested in top rating programs like Party Pilipinas, Toda Max, Cge TV, Bubble Gang, Manny Many Prizes, MYX Daily Top 10, Star MYX and was featured in news programs of ABS-CBN, TV5 and GMA.

The 19-year-old online celebrity admits being a bit overwhelmed with the activities lined-up for him, but said,

sobrang na-enjoy kokasi ang dami-daming naka-suporta sa akin tapos ramdam ko pa pagmamahal ng mga followers ko. Sulit ang lahat ng pagod kasi alam ko na mapapasaya ko mga friends ko.”

His album under Universal Records boasts of an interesting concept that will surely entertain his followers.

“I am really thankful to Universal Records for entrusting this project to me,” adds Kimpoy. “I am blessed. The 12 days when I was in Manila is one of the most memorable times of my life.”

He considers his meet-up with followers as one of the highlights of his trip, where he spent an afternoon with some of his supporters.

“Nakakatuwa kasi pumunta talaga sila dun maski late kami nakapagsabi,” explains Kimpoy. “I am beyond grateful. I hope to be back very soon.”

Kimpoy is being managed by Orion Entertainment.  For inquiries and bookings, please call 0916-4140358 or email: olrac1023@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,325 other followers

